July 14, 2021

Professor Ruth E. Tringham (Department of Anthropology) has just been recognized by the Royal Anthropological Society of Great Britain and Ireland as the recipient of the 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award. This is an annual award to recognize an anthropologist for their "fundamental, sustained and outstanding contribution to the discipline of anthropology over the course of their career". The RAI is the oldest professional society for anthropology, founded in 1871.

June 14, 2021

UC Berkeley Anthropology Professor, and Director of the Archaeological Research Facility, Christine Hastorf is being celebrated by the Office of the Vice-Chancellor for Research. 

May 17, 2021

We wish to celebrate May N. Diaz's 100th Birthday

April 29, 2021

On Wed, April 28th, 2021, UC Berkeley Anthropology Professor Kent Lightfoot was awarded the David A. Fredrickson Lifetime Achievement Award of the Society for California Archaeology. Professor Lightfoot has been carrying out pioneering archaeological research in California since joining the Berkeley Anthropology faculty in 1987. Dr. Lightfoot’s research has emphasized the collaboration of working with Native Americans in the greater San Francisco Bay Area to bring the past to light, and to make it relevant to today’s indigenous populations and archaeologists.

April 2, 2021

David C. Thompson (PhD 2020 Anthropology) wins the Sérgio Buarque de Holanda Prize for the Best Dissertation in the Social Sciences from the Latin American Studies Association, Brazil Section, for his doctoral dissertation "Resocialize to Conquer the Future": Incarceration and Reform in Rio de Janeiro (dissertation chair, Professor James Holston)

Society for Cultural Anthropology Author's Page:

February 23, 2021

Vivian Osborne was an alumna of the UC Berkeley Anthropology Masters program, having received her degree in 1922. Her master thesis was on "Types and Distribution of Negro Folklore in America".

In her time at Berkeley, and beyond, Vivian accomplished so much and was an activist and leader. Additionally, Vivian was one of the founders of the Kappa chapter, of the Delta Sigma Theta, one of the major African-American sororities. This year, Kappa celebrates its 100th anniversary!

February 17, 2021

UC Berkeley Anthropology Professor Lisa Maher and her research on "Hunter-gatherer mortuary behaviors in prehistoric Jordan" were recently featured internationally by ( and by

February 10, 2021

From Berkeley News, UC Berkeley Anthropology Professors Kent Lightfoot and Jun Sunseri, and Anthropology Students were featured in the article: "Indigenous archaeology plows forward, despite anthropology's checkered past" (linked to article).

January 15, 2021

Congratulations to Karla "Ranger" Trujillo, Anthropology Undergraduate of the class of 2022, for becoming a Ronald B. McNair Scholar! 

Read about Karla's amazing achievement here:

December 28, 2020

Congratulations to UC Berkeley Anthropology PhD Lyle Fearnley on new book Virulent Zones: Animal Disease and Global Health at China’s Pandemic Epicenter through Duke University Press. 

December 22, 2020

Professor Emeritus Margaret Conkey is one of five Berkeley scholars to be elected this year as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), one of the world’s largest scientific societies. Our congratulations to Professor Conkey for this prestigious honor! She is recognized for her theoretical work on the role of art in ancient evolution and gender studies in archeology.

December 18, 2020

Professor White's article, in collaboration with Catherine Draycott, titled "Why the Whiteness of Archaeology Is a Problem" was featured in SAPIEN's Best of 2020! Congrats Professor! Check out his article below!

December 8, 2020

Recent 2020 UC Berkeley Anthropology and Near Eastern Languages & Literatures (Arabic) BA graduate, Nicholas Shafer, becomes one of 44 Marshall Scholars that will begin study in the United Kingdom in Fall 2021 and will pursue study at the University of Oxford and the University of Sussex.

November 23, 2020

 P/NP grades received during the period of the Covid-19 shutdown will not be considered in evaluating applications to our graduate program.

November 9, 2020

The anthropology department has held discussions around the unnaming of Kroeber Hall and around the university's lack of compliance with CalNAGPRA. Wanting to extend these discussions beyond the department, anthropology graduate students, in consultation with indigenous members of the campus community, drafted two resolutions that were introduced to the UC Berkeley Graduate Assembly. On November 5 the Graduate Assembly approved these resolutions and took the official position in support of unnaming Kroeber Hall based on his harmful legacy to local indigenous communities.

November 6, 2020

We want to congratulate one of Archaeology Graduate Students, Mario Alberto Castillo for being awarded the UC President's Pre-Professoriate Fellowship from The University of California's Hispanic Serving Institution Doctoral Diversity Initiative. 

This is what Mario had to say about why their Pre-Fellowship promotes diversity and inclusion in Academia. 

October 26, 2020

October 6, 2020

The Anthropology Department has created a “Virtual Front Desk” page on the website! Students and staff can find information and resources using the clickable links embedded in the virtual office. There is also the option to meet with our Student Assistants over Zoom to answer your specific questions.  We hope that this virtual office will provide clarity and support in an online space.

September 8, 2020

As chair of the UC Berkeley anthropology department, I write to express my department’s support for the initiative to un-name Kroeber Hall. The act of un-naming, as we see it, takes an important step in addressing and acknowledging a long history of violence toward Native Americans in which UC Berkeley and the anthropology department are implicated. This act gives momentum to the long-overdue work of repair for historical injury. 


June 18, 2020

Congratulations to Professor William White on receiving the Hellman Fellow Fund. 

A blurb about his Fellow award: