Graduate Students

Below is a list of graduate students. If you are not listed here and should be, please contact the webmaster.



Banan Abdelrahman

Sociocultural Anthropology 
banan.abdel@berkeley.edu

Research Interests: Mobilities, Memory, Border Studies, Identity Formation, Critical Geographies, Diaspora, Imperialism, The Everyday, MENA
 

Sheyda Aboii

Medical Anthropology

sheyda_aboii@berkeley.edu


Research Interests: Blackness, race, indigeneity, documentation, membership, belonging, immigration, toxic exposure, water, citizenship, borders, structural violence, bodily affect, environment, post-industrial worldings, the social meaning(s) of policies, and divergence of local practice from federal policies
 

Wolfgang Alders

Archaeology

alders@berkeley.edu

 

Alec Apodaca

Archaeology

ajapodaca@berkeley.edu

Research Interests: History Ecology, Paleoethnobotany, Coastal Landscapes, Resource Management

 

Nicolas Arms

Linguistic Anthropology

narms@berkeley.edu

 

Anjana Bala

Medical Anthropology

anjana.bala@ucsf.edu

Research Interests: Embodiment, Art, Psychiatry, Religion, India
 

Philip Balboni

Sociocultural Anthropology

pbalboni@berkeley.edu

 

Brittany Birberick

Sociocultural Anthropology

bcb@berkeley.edu 

Research Interests: economic anthropology, urban anthropology, Southern Africa, racial capitalism, development, aesthetics 

Valerie Black

Sociocultural Anthropology

vblack@berkeley.edu

 

Pascale Boucicaut

Archaeology

pboucicaut@berkeley.edu

Research Interests: Museum Anthropology, Cultural Heritage, Materiality, Transatlantic Slavery and The Middle Passage 

Jordan Brown

Archaeology

jordanbrown@berkeley.edu

Research Interests: Geoarchaeology, geomorphology, archaeology, environmental archaeology, ecological archaeology, landscape archaeology, community-based participatory research, stewardship, socioecological systems, coupled human-natural systems, Bayesian statistics, quantitative methods, uncertainty analysis, data management
 

Diego Caleiro

Biological Anthropology

diegocaleiro@berkeley.edu

 

Gustavo Capela

Sociocultural Anthropology

guscapela@berkeley.edu