Faculty

Status message

  • Active context: people_slideshow
  • Active context: sitewide
Sabrina C. Agarwal
Associate Professor
Office: 212 ARF, Lab: 196 Kroeber Hall
Office: 2 - 4489; Lab: 3 - 8393
agarwal@berkeley.edu
Bioarchaeology, biological and evolutionary anthropology, osteology and osteoporosis, health and disease, paleopathology.
Charles L. Briggs
Professor
Folklore Chair
307 Kroeber
3-2012
clbriggs@berkeley.edu
Social/cultural anthropology, especially as relating to linguistic and medical anthropology, narrative, media and mediatization, folklore and performance, racialization, and violence
Lawrence Cohen
Professor
Office: 319 Kroeber
cohen@berkeley.edu
Social Cultural Anthropology, Medical and Psychiatric Anthropology, Critical Gerontology, Lesbian and Gay Studies and Feminist and Queer Theory.
Office: 329 Kroeber, Lab: 332 Kroeber
deacon@berkeley.edu
Brain development and evolution, origins of language, bio-cultural evolution, emergence.
Nicholas Dirks
Chancellor
chancellor@berkeley.edu
Mariane C Ferme
Professor
Curator of African Ethnology, Hearst Museum of Anthropology
321 Kroeber
mcf@berkeley.edu
West Africa and Sierra Leone; sociocultural theory and methods; history of anthropology; the political imagination; access to justice and transitional justice institutions; materiality; rural livelihoods.
Daniel Fisher
Associate Professor
Chair, Curriculum Committee
323 Kroeber
dtfisher@berkeley.edu
Social Cultural Anthropology; Media; Music and Sound; Photography and Cinema; Australia
Junko Habu
Professor
Office: 203 ARF, Lab: 312 Kroeber & 314 Kroeber
Office: 3-2645, Lab: 3-2837
habu@berkeley.edu
Archaeology and anthropology of hunter-gatherers and small-scale societies; human-environmental dynamics; sedentism; landscape archaeology; sociopolitics of archaeology; climate change; local and global environmental issues; Japan, East Asia and the North Pacific Rim.
William F. Hanks
Professor
315 Kroeber
wfhanks@berkeley.edu
Maya culture, language in culture, discourse, cognition and communication, shamanism, the logic of anthropological inquiry, anthropology of literature.
Office: 215 ARF
Lab: 664-4498
hastorf@berkeley.edu
Food and agriculture, archaeology, political complexity, gender, paleoethnobotany; Andes.
Cori Hayden
Associate Professor
327 Kroeber
cphayden@berkeley.edu
Anthropology of science, technology, and medicine; Latin America (particularly Mexico); post-colonial science studies; kinship, gender, and queer studies.
Charles Hirschkind
Associate Professor
Undergraduate Faculty Advisor for Social Anthropology, Socio-Cultural House Head
113 Kroeber
chirschk@berkeley.edu
Religion, anthropology of the senses, media theory, language and performance, Islam and the Middle East.
James Holston
Professor
303 Kroeber
510 642-3392
jholston@berkeley.edu
Cities and citizenship; political theory; new forms of direct democracy using digital technologies; planning and architecture; Brazil, the Americas. Director, Social Apps Lab at CITRIS
Rosemary Joyce
Professor
Faculty Graduate Advisor
Office: 207 ARF; Lab: 209 ARF, 211 ARF
rajoyce@berkeley.edu
Materiality and the archaeology of inequality; gender, sex, and sexuality; cultural heritage policy; Central America and Mexico.
Kent Lightfoot
Professor
Undergraduate Advisor
Office: 2251 College Building (Archaeological Research Facility), Room 213; Lab: 55 Kroeber
642-1309
klightfoot@berkeley.edu
North American Archaeology with specialization in California, coastal hunter-gatherers, colonialism
Xin Liu
Professor
301 Kroeber
642-0705
xinliu@berkeley.edu
Social cultural anthropology, history and/of anthropology, contemporary trends in social theory, development and culture, China/East Asia.
Lisa A. Maher
Assistant Professor
Office: 204 ARF; Lab: 1 Kroeber
maher@berkeley.edu
Prehistoric Archaeology, Eastern Mediterranean & Africa, Human-Environment Interactions, Geoarchaeology, Hunter-Gatherers, Lithic Technology and Analysis, Archaeological Approaches to Technology, Emergence of Social Complexity
Saba Mahmood
Professor
117 Kroeber
664-4497
smahmood@berkeley.edu
Religion, secularism, law and politics, ethics, gender and sexuality, violence, Islam, the Middle East, Europe, South Asia.
Donald S. Moore
Associate Professor
331 Kroeber
642-8357
dsmoore@berkeley.edu
Cultural politics; race, ethnicity, and identity; spatiality and power; governmentality; development; environment; postcolonial theory; Africa
Laura Nader
Professor
313 Kroeber
642-1218
lanad@berkeley.edu
Cultural anthropology, comparative methods, law, dispute resolution, controlling processes, kinships, professional mind-sets, Middle East, Mexico, and U.S.
Karen Nakamura
Professor
Haas Distinguished Chair of Disability Studies
333 Kroeber Hall; Lab: HFA D 1
karen.nakamura@berkeley.edu
Cultural anthropology; Disability Studies; LGBT movements; minority social movements and identity politics; visual anthropology and ethnographic filmmaking, Japan
Aihwa Ong
Professor, Robert H. Lowie Distinguished Chair in Anthropology
317 Kroeber
aihwaong@berkeley.edu
Science, Technology, & Society; Anthropology of Citizenship, Neoliberalism, Modernity; Contemporary Chinese Art; Selected interests in Southeast Asia, China, and U.S.A.
Stefania Pandolfo
Professor
Medical Anthropology Director
201 Kroeber
642-9229
pandolfo@berkeley.edu
Cultural Anthropology, theories of subjectivity, postcolonial criticism, anthropology and literature; Islam, Middle East and the Maghreb
Paul M. Rabinow
Professor
311 Kroeber
642-2634
rabinow@berkeley.edu
Cultural anthropology, philosophy of human and life sciences, modernity, the contemporary; France.
Jun Sunseri
Assistant Professor
Undergraduate Faculty Advisor, Archaeology
Office: 214 ARF, Lab: 197 Kroeber
Office: 664-4888, Lab: 643-8393
jsunseri@berkeley.edu
Colonialism, Foodways, Landscapes, Historical and Contemporary Archaeology, Preservation and Heritage, Southwest US and Northern South Africa
Sarah E. Vaughn
Assistant Professor
335 Kroeber
sev83@berkeley.edu
Cultural Anthropology; (Post)colonial Science Studies; Environment; Expertise; Climate Change; Vulnerability; Critical Theories of Race and Racialization; Theories of Liberalism; Caribbean/Latin America
William White
Assistant Professor
Office: 210 ARF, Lab: 55 Kroeber
wawhite@berkeley.edu
Laurie Wilkie
Chair and Professor
Office: 206 ARF, Lab: 11 ARF, Chair: 213 Kroeber
Office: 643-0677, Lab: 643-1112, Chair: 643-7241
lawilkie@berkeley.edu
Historical and Contemporary Archaeology, Preservation and Heritage, Household archaeology, US and Caribbean
Alexei Yurchak
Associate Professor, Socio-Cultural and Linguistic Anthropology (also: Core Faculty Member at the Dept. of Dance, Theater and Performance Studies)
119 Kroeber
yurchak@berkeley.edu
Communism and post-communism, Political Anthropology, Linguistic anthropology, Media and Mediation, Utopias, History, Cold War, Discourse, Subject, Ideology, Sovereignty, Russia, Soviet and post-Soviet world, Irony, Performance and performativity.