Faculty

Sabrina C. Agarwal
Associate Professor
Curriculum Committee Chair
Office: 212 ARF, Lab: 195 Kroeber
642-4489
agarwal@berkeley.edu
Bioarchaeology, biological and evolutionary anthropology, osteology and osteoporosis, health and disease, paleopathology.
Stanley H. Brandes
Professor
Undergraduate Advisor, Sociocultural Anthropology
309 Kroeber
642-6945
brandes@berkeley.edu
Ritual and religion; food and drink; the anthropology of alcohol use; visual anthropology; and the cultural anthropology of Mediterranean Europe and Latin America (emphasis on Spain and Mexico).
Charles L. Briggs
Professor
Folklore Chair; GSI Coordinator
307 Kroeber
643-2012
clbriggs@berkeley.edu
Social/cultural anthropology, especially as relating to linguistic and medical anthropology, narrative, media and mediatization, folklore and performance, racialization, and violence
Lawrence Cohen
Professor
Graduate Advisor for Medical Anthropology
319 Kroeber
cohen@berkeley.edu
Social Cultural Anthropology, Medical and Psychiatric Anthropology, Critical Gerontology, Lesbian and Gay Studies and Feminist and Queer Theory.
329 Kroeber
deacon@berkeley.edu
Brain development and evolution, origins of language, bio-cultural evolution, emergence.
Nicholas Dirks
Chancellor
chancellor@berkeley.edu
Mariane C Ferme
Associate Professor
321 Kroeber
642-2958
mcf@berkeley.edu
West Africa and Sierra Leone; sociocultural theory and methods; history of anthropology; the political imagination; access to justice and transitional justice institutions; materiality; rural livelihoods.
Daniel Fisher
Associate Professor
323 Kroeber
dtfisher@berkeley.edu
Social Cultural Anthropology; Anthropology of Media; Aboriginal Australia; Music and Sound; Art and Expressive Practice; Photography; Ethnographic Film and Video; Citizenship and the State; Bureaucracy
Junko Habu
Professor
Office: 203 ARF, Lab: 314 Kroeber
Office: 643-2645, Lab: 643-2837
habu@berkeley.edu
Hunter-gatherer subsistence and settlement, prehistoric Jomon hunter-gatherers in Japan, East Asian archaeology, ceramic analysis, historical archaeology in Japan, archaeology and society.
William F. Hanks
Professor
315 Kroeber
wfhanks@berkeley.edu
Maya culture, language in culture, discourse, cognition and communication, shamanism, the logic of anthropological inquiry, anthropology of literature.
Office: 215 ARF, Lab: 65 Kroeber
Office: 642-5457, Lab: 664-4498
hastorf@berkeley.edu
Food and agriculture, archaeology, political complexity, gender, paleoethnobotany; Andes.
Cori Hayden
Associate Professor
327 Kroeber
cphayden@berkeley.edu
Anthropology of science, technology, and medicine; Latin America (particularly Mexico); post-colonial science studies; kinship, gender, and queer studies.
Charles Hirschkind
Associate Professor
Undergraduate Faculty Advisor for Social Anthropology, Socio-Cultural House Head
113 Kroeber
chirschk@berkeley.edu
Religion, anthropology of the senses, media theory, language and performance, Islam and the Middle East.
James Holston
Professor
303 Kroeber
643-1688
jholston@berkeley.edu
Cities and citizenship; political theory, democracy, and law; planning and architecture; urban ethnography; Brazil, the Americas.
Rosemary Joyce
Professor
Graduate Faculty Advisor, Archaeology
207 ARF
rajoyce@berkeley.edu
Materiality and the archaeology of inequality; gender, sex, and sexuality; cultural heritage policy; Central America and Mexico.
Kent Lightfoot
Professor
Undergraduate Advisor
213 ARF
642-1309
klightfoot@berkeley.edu
North American Archaeology with specialization in California, coastal hunter-gatherers, colonialism
Xin Liu
Professor
301 Kroeber
642-0705
xinliu@berkeley.edu
Social cultural anthropology, history and/of anthropology, contemporary trends in social theory, development and culture, China/East Asia.
Lisa A. Maher
Assistant Professor
204 ARF
maher@berkeley.edu
Prehistoric Archaeology; geoarchaeology; micromorphology; Palaeolithic, Epipalaeolithic and Neolithic periods; hunter-gatherers; anthropological approaches to technology; lithic technology, analysis, and production; emergence of complexity; origins of agriculture; Pleistocene/Holocene transition; mortuary archaeology; Near East, North Africa and Arabia; public archaeology
Saba Mahmood
Professor
Graduate Faculty Advisor
117 Kroeber
664-4497
smahmood@berkeley.edu
Religion, secularism, law and politics, ethics, gender and sexuality, violence, Islam, the Middle East, Europe, South Asia.
Donald S. Moore
Associate Professor
331 Kroeber
642-8357
dsmoore@berkeley.edu
Cultural politics; race, ethnicity, and identity; spatiality and power; governmentality; development; environment; postcolonial theory; Africa
Laura Nader
Professor
313 Kroeber
642-1218
lanad@berkeley.edu
Cultural anthropology, comparative methods, law, dispute resolution, controlling processes, kinships, professional mind-sets, Middle East, Mexico, and U.S.
Karen Nakamura
Professor
Haas Distinguished Chair of Disability Studies
333 Kroeber Hall
karen.nakamura@berkeley.edu
Cultural anthropology; Disability Studies; LGBT movements; minority social movements and identity politics; visual anthropology and ethnographic filmmaking, Japan
Aihwa Ong
Professor, Robert H. Lowie Distinguished Chair in Anthropology
317 Kroeber
aihwaong@berkeley.edu
Science, Technology, & Society; Anthropology of Citizenship, Neoliberalism, Modernity; Contemporary Chinese Art; Selected interests in Southeast Asia, China, and U.S.A.
Stefania Pandolfo
Professor
Medical Anthropology Director
201 Kroeber
642-9229
pandolfo@berkeley.edu
Cultural Anthropology, theories of subjectivity, postcolonial criticism, anthropology and literature; Islam, Middle East and the Maghreb
Paul M. Rabinow
Professor
311 Kroeber
642-2634
rabinow@berkeley.edu
Cultural anthropology, philosophy of human and life sciences, modernity, the contemporary; France.
305 Kroeber
nsh@berkeley.edu
Critical Medical Anthropology, the anthropology of violence, madness and culture, inequality and marginality, childhood and the family, Ireland, Brazil, Cuba, South Africa.
Jun Sunseri
Assistant Professor
Undergraduate Faculty Advisor, Archaeology
Office: 214 ARF, Lab: 197 Kroeber
Office: 664-4888, Lab: 643-8393
jsunseri@berkeley.edu
Colonialism, Foodways, Landscapes, Historical and Contemporary Archaeology, Preservation and Heritage, Southwest US and Northern South Africa
Sarah E. Vaughn
Assistant Professor
sev83@berkeley.edu Cultural Anthropology; (Post)colonial Science Studies; Environment; Expertise; Climate Change; Vulnerability; Critical Theories of Race and Racialization; Theories of Liberalism; Caribbean/Latin America
Laurie Wilkie
Chair and Professor
Office: 208 ARF, Lab: 55 Kroeber, Chair: 213 Kroeber
Office: 643-0677, Lab: 643-1112, Chair: 643-7241
lawilkie@berkeley.edu
Historical and Contemporary Archaeology, Preservation and Heritage, Household archaeology, US and Caribbean
Alexei Yurchak
Associate Professor, Socio-Cultural and Linguistic Anthropology (also: Core Faculty Member at the Dept. of Dance, Theater and Performance Studies)
119 Kroeber
yurchak@berkeley.edu
Communism and post-communism, Political Anthropology, Linguistic anthropology, Media and Mediation, Utopias, History, Cold War, Discourse, Subject, Ideology, Sovereignty, Russia, Soviet and post-Soviet world, Irony, Performance and performativity.